Implementation of a tool-supported requirements model for responding to a request for quotation for the new construction of submarines

Christian Knop

"With the assistance of 3DSE's methodical and operational support, we were able to create all engineering quotation documents with the help of tools in just 6 months."

Christian Knop

Subproject manager

ThyssenKrupp Marine Systems

Implementation of a tool-supported requirements model for responding to a request for quotation for the new construction of submarines

thyssenkrupp Marine Systems (tk MS) is a leading European naval systems company with an extensive product portfolio including frigates/corvettes, non-nuclear submarines, naval command, control and sensor systems as well as unmanned/autonomous surface and underwater vehicles.

Since 1960, tk MS has delivered more than 170 submarines to over 20 navies worldwide and accompanies its customers through the complete product life cycle – from design, development, production and system integration to in-service support.

With the receipt of the Request for Quotation (RfQ), the award phase began as part of a procurement program for the construction of new submarines.

To be considered for the final selection process, the tkMS offer had to be submitted on time and not only be technically convincing, but also take industrial cooperation into account, among other things.

Objective

In order to meet the needs of the navy, an existing tk MS submarine design was used and further developed for special missions with long ranges. For the more than 200 engineers, this meant taking into account a predefined product strategy and planning new innovative technologies and systems.

By consistently reusing artifacts (requirements, specification and design documents), the resources provided in engineering were to be used as efficiently as possible to create the offer documents within six months. Together with 3DSE, a requirements model was therefore set up in Doors Next Generation (DNG) to match the quotation project, with the aim of:

  • enable the re-use of artifacts (e.g. requirements, SSS, SSDD)
  • to establish a single source of truth that is used by all engineering experts involved in the quotation creation process
  • ensure clean traceability from the RfQ requirements to the quotation documents and supplier specifications
  • quickly evaluate changes to RfQ requirements by the Department of Defense and derive implications for the bid products to be created
  • Create proposal documents directly in DNG and export them at the push of a button

In a first step, the requirements for the engineering offer documents – compliance matrix, verification matrix and technical specification – were recorded, reviewed and evaluated and suitable workflows for creating these offer documents were derived.

The necessary data for filling in the compliance response and the verification matrix was recorded in DNG and exported in such a way that it could be fed directly into the formats defined in the RfQ (xml and Excel).

To create the technical specifications, a system breakdown was first defined. After evaluation of the artifacts by the engineering department with regard to reuse, these were migrated into the requirements model, linked with the customer requirements and further developed by the engineering department.

In order to ensure that the offer documents were provided on time, transparency regarding the current processing status had to be available at all times so that suitable corrective measures could be derived at an early stage. A DNG Reporting Cockpit with various evaluation views was created for this purpose, as well as an error heatmap that shows whether the attributes of the stakeholders and system requirements are filled according to the specifications. In addition, individual reports were introduced for the main system managers to show the processing status of the technical specifications and gaps in the requirements model (e.g. missing links between system requirements and system elements).

The DNG Reporting Cockpit was flanked by a support and enablement concept tailored to the needs of the engineers and a user guide on Confluence. This triad made a significant contribution to ensuring that all engineering offer documents were provided on time in accordance with the RfQ requirements.

“The workflows and reporting cockpits set up together with 3DSE helped me to do the right things right,” says Christian Knop, sub-project manager for engineering at tk MS.

Would you like to discover more 3DSE success stories?

We have already carried out many successful projects with our customers from a wide range of industries. Find out more about how our customers have experienced working with us.

Implementierung eines tool-gestützten Anforderungsmodells zur Beantwortung eines Request for quotation für den Neubau von U-Booten

Christian Knop

„Mit Hilfe der methodischen und operativen Unterstützung von 3DSE konnten wir in nur 6 Monaten alle Engineering Angebotsdokumente tool-gestützt erstellen.“

Christian Knop

Teilprojektleiter Engineering

ThyssenKrupp Marine Systems

Implementierung eines tool-gestützten Anforderungsmodells zur Beantwortung eines Request for quotation für den Neubau von U-Booten

thyssenkrupp Marine Systems (tk MS) ist ein führendes europäisches Unternehmen für Marinesysteme mit einem umfangreichen Produktportfolio, das Fregatten/Korvetten, nichtnukleare U-Boote, Marineführungs-, Kontroll- und Sensorsysteme sowie unbemannte/autonome Über- und Unterwasserfahrzeuge umfasst.

Seit 1960 hat tk MS mehr als 170 U-Boote an über 20 Marinen weltweit geliefert und begleitet ihre Kunden über den kompletten Produktlebenszyklus – vom Design, der Entwicklung, der Produktion und Systemintegration bis hin zum in-Service Support.

Mit dem Erhalt des Request for Quotation (RfQ) begann die Award Phase im Rahmen eines Beschaffungsprogramms für den Neubau von U-Booten.

Um für das finale Auswahlverfahren berücksichtigt zu werden, musste das tkMS Angebot fristgerecht eingereicht werden und nicht nur technisch überzeugen, sondern u.a. auch eine industrielle Kooperation berücksichtigen.

Zielsetzung

Um die Bedürfnisse der Marine zu erfüllen, wurde ein bestehendes tk MS U-Boot Design herangezogen und für spezielle Einsätze mit großen Reichweiten weiterentwickelt. Für die über 200 Engineers bedeutete das, eine vorgegebene Produktstrategie zu berücksichtigen und neue innovative Technologien und Systeme zu projektieren.

Durch einen konsequenten Re-use von Artefakten (Requirements, Spezifikations- und Designdokumente) sollten die bereitgestellten Ressourcen im Engineering zur Erstellung der Angebotsdokumente innerhalb von sechs Monaten bestmöglich genutzt werden. Deshalb wurde gemeinsam mit 3DSE ein zum Angebotsprojekt passendes Anforderungsmodell in Doors Next Generation (DNG) aufgesetzt, mit dem Ziel:

  • einen Re-use von Artefakten (u.a. Requirements, SSS, SSDD) zu ermöglichen
  • eine Single Source of Truth zu etablieren, die von allen am Angebotserstellungsprozess beteiligten Fachexperten aus dem Engineering genutzt wird
  • eine saubere Traceability von den RfQ Anforderungen hin zu den Angebotsdokumenten und Lieferantenspezifikationen sicherzustellen
  • Änderungen von RfQ Anforderungen durch das Verteidigungsministerium schnell bewerten und Implikationen für die zu erstellenden Angebotsprodukte ableiten zu können
  • Angebotsdokumente direkt in DNG erstellen und per Knopfdruck ausleiten zu können

In einem ersten Schritt wurden die Anforderungen an die Angebotsdokumente des Engineering – Compliancy Matrix, Verification Matrix und Technische Spezifikation – erfasst, gesichtet und bewertet sowie passende Workflows zur Erstellung dieser Angebotsdokumente abgeleitet.

Für die Befüllung der Compliancy Response und der Verification Matrix wurden die notwendigen Daten in DNG erfasst und so exportiert, dass diese direkt in die im RfQ definierten Formate (xml und Excel) eingespeist werden konnten.

Zur Erstellung der Technischen Spezifikationen wurde zunächst ein Systemaufbruch definiert. Nach Bewertung der Artefakte durch das Engineering hinsichtlich Re-use, wurden diese in das Anforderungsmodell migriert, mit den Kundenanforderungen verlinkt und durch das Engineering weiterentwickelt.

Um eine fristgerechte Bereitstellung der Angebotsdokumente sicherzustellen, musste zu jeder Zeit Transparenz zum aktuellen Bearbeitungsstand vorliegen, um so frühzeitig geeignete korrektive Maßnahmen ableiten zu können. Dazu wurde ein DNG Reporting Cockpit mit verschiedenen Auswertungssichten erstellt sowie eine Fehler Heatmap, die aufzeigt, ob die Attribute der Stakeholder und System Requirements entsprechend den Vorgaben befüllt sind. Zusätzlich wurden individuelle Reports für die Hauptsystemverantwortlichen eingeführt, die den Bearbeitungsstand der Technischen Spezifikationen und Lücken zum Anforderungsmodell (z.B. fehlende Verlinkung von System Requirements mit System Elementen) aufzeigen.

Flankiert wurde das DNG Reporting Cockpit von einem auf die Bedürfnisse der Engineers zugeschnittenem Support- und Befähigungskonzept sowie einem Anwenderleitfaden auf Confluence. Dieser Dreiklang hat maßgeblich dazu beigetragen, dass alle Engineering Dokumente gemäß den RfQ Anforderungen fristgerecht bereitgestellt werden konnten.

„Die gemeinsam mit 3DSE aufgesetzten Workflows und Reporting Cockpits haben mich dabei unterstützt die richtigen Dinge richtig zu tun“, sagt Christian Knop, Teilprojektleiter Engineering bei tk MS.